Book Review: Just One Smile Is Very Alluring by Gu Man

s27346684

The online-game-setting of JOSIA didn’t appeal that much to me in the beginning. But you know what they say about never judging a book by it’s cover?! Man, that TOTALLY turned out to be true in this case!

I like Gu Man because of the simple ways she writes her novels. But in this novel, she handles the complex world of Online gaming with ease. I, the quissential gamer, felt that the book would be lame. I mean, tell me, how many of us will like a romantic story in a wuxia setting? But JOSIA is way different from what I expected and it actually delivered.

Okay, I’ll stop the blabber and start the review.

Bei Wei Wei is the typical example of beauty with brains, as she’s extremely lovely and at the same time, is also studying in a Premier University. And adding to that, she’s a gaming addict (Like me, hee!) and is hung over a game called Dreams Of Jianghu. In that game, the gamer can also marry because there are a few challenges that need a partner to complete. So, she marries Zhen Shui Wu Xiang.

But what she doesn’t know is that all the other gamers playing that game think that she’s actually a boy playing under the identity of a girl, as she’s the only girl in the Top Ten ranked players of the game.

Anyways, she gets dumped because her “husband” is now interested in getting married to Xiao Yu Yao Yao,who’s very beautiful. The thing is that when a video-making competition was announced for the players, Xiao Yu Yao Yao revealed her face in her video. So everyone thinks that she’s beautiful. But, in reality, Wei Wei is much more lovelier than Xiao Yu Yao Yao.

Under some unavoidable circumstances, she agrees to marry Nai He Xiong, who’s the #1 Player of Dreams of Jianghu. He’s the kind of player everyone dreams to become, but can’t really how much ever they try. Wei Wei and Nai He Xiong team up to compete in a coming-up Tournament.

In the process, they slowly find themselves growing closer through their online identities.

Meanwhile, there’s also Xiao Nai to talk about. He’s the ultra handsome, genius and brilliant guy of the CompScience faculty of the University. He’s also started his own company before even graduating. He’s good in everything there is, and is every girl’s dream. Is there any connection between him an Wei Wei?

Will Zhen Shui Wu Xiang rest back seeing that his “former wife” is now married to the Top Player of the game? Wil Xiao Yu Yao Yao leave her biggest rival in peace? Or will there be retribution?

And, will Nai He Xiong and Wei Wei ever meet and fall in love?

I found the book to be pretty engaging. The story’s set-up did take some time, and I also felt that it was very lengthy.

When it comes to characters, Wei Wei is one of those many heroines who has a spunk. For a difference, she knows that she’s beautiful. And that’s so different from the usual heroines who are the They-don’t-know-that-they-are-beautiful-and-that-makes-them-more-beautiful types.

However, Nai He Xiong is just the normal C-novel hero will all the arrogance and domination in him. The Second Leads don’t do a good job in being second leads. The friends come off as too screechy and too helpful-to-the-hero types.

It’s Gu Man’s writing that deserves props, though. Simple and elegant.

Bottomline: Read this book for the chemistry between the OTP.

You can read the translations here or here

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Just One Smile Is Very Alluring by Gu Man

  1. I read this and I loved it! The novel was so great and I even read it thrice, once in the original chinese form (because I couldn’t wait for the translation anymore!) and twice with english translation. I loved the intro done by http://cnovels.bookbychapters.com/a-slight-smile-is-very-charming-gu-man-introduction/ and it was what got me hooked on this story. Would definitely recommend everyone to read it for a feel-good story 🙂

    PS: Shouldn’t the name be Yi Xiao Nai He instead of Nai He Xiong?

    Like

    • Hi SkimmedMilkDrama!
      I loved the book too! Even more so because I’m a gamer myself and I love playing World of Warcraft! I didn’t read Lil’ Bliss’s Version of the translations, but now, I’ll add the link.
      And, I’m not sure about the name, but I guess it was a typo from my part! Sorry! 🙂
      Besides, I’m trying my best to make every post here possible because work and studies aren’t really being helpful to my online cause! So, forgive me if there are any more errors!

      Like

      • No worries, I just wanted to clarify 🙂 I read most of the translated part at wwyxhqc too and found some parts which I thought might not make much sense to people who don’t know chinese. Lil Bliss is slightly slower in their translation but I thought they are more detailed and it’s easier for non-chinese readers to understand 🙂

        Like

      • Yeah! I’d read the Destruction Of A Triad Boss’s Translations in Li”l Bliss and felt that what you said is right! Since I’d read the Chinese Version of JOSIA, I didn’t think that those who don’t read Chinese will find it difficult to understand the Translations which were a bit literal in wwyxhqc! Thanks for the suggestion!

        Like

    • Hi, cjjavierto! The book hasn’t been translated “officially” into English, so I’m afraid you won’t find any English available in the market. But there are two fan-made English translations available online for free which are really good, in my opinion. I have provided the links to the translations in the above post.
      Also, the original Chinese books are available in Amazon, in case you know Chinese and want to buy the book. Or else, I’m afraid you’ll have to depend on the Fan-translated English version of the book.
      Hope this answers your question! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

