Summary: The Lone Star In My Constellation by Xiao Li

I’m going to begin translating a new book, and I know that the title sounds VERY lovely. Let me assure you that the book is just as awesome as the title! And here’s the Summary… (Hehe, I’ve finally made some progress as a Translator because I’m posting the Summary before bulldozing through the book!)

Song Of The Day: Tum Hi Ho – Aashiqui 2 OST [Translation] [Download]

SUMMARY:

Ten years ago, Li Ming Xing had left China, thinking that she would never return. She’d left behind the person she loved the most. She’d left behind the only life she’d ever known.

All because of a broken promise.

When Ming Xing finally does return to China, as a successful Journalist, she realizes that lots of things have changed. And the lover she’d left behind, Han Xue Zhao, is no longer the Arrogant Campus Heartthrob, but the super-successful CEO of the Han Enterprises which is among the leading conglomerates of the Nation.

It’s only when she runs into him that she realizes she’s been deluding herself all these years, thinking that she’s gotten over him. Ten years can change a lot of things. Will time be able to erode a love that’s always been a bitter-sweet memory? Or was the tryst ten years ago just a passing one that had no real feeling in it?

COMMENTS:

Firstly, let me inform you all that this book was written three years ago by one of my close friends’ elder sister, Xiao Li.

I’ve always known her to be an excellent writer who was never really inclined towards publishing any of her material and always kept her writings private. So it took me quite a long time to persuade her to share her writings with all of us. And then, there’s also the matter of whether she’ll post the Chinese version of the book online or not.

She made it extremely clear to me right from Day One that she doesn’t want the Chinese Version to be made public. But she told me that I’m free to translate it if I want to. She’s actually waiting to catch the grammatical or vocabulary mistakes that I might make as she finds it funny whenever I translate something. See, I had this annoying habit of translating everything into its literal sense, and trust me, there were times when they came off sounding very wrong (*wink* *wink*) and very funny.

In fact, she’s the one who’s given me the nickname ‘Mistranslator’, which when spoken quickly, comes off as ‘Miss Translator’. A nickname which manages to sound honorific. Heh.

She’ll also be visiting my amateur blog to note down the suggestions given by you all, so that she can make improvements to her future writings which I hope, she’ll publish.

So be ready with those feedback forms, guys! And also enjoy the story. I know that the premise sounds very much Silent Separation-ish, but I can assure you that it’s not the same. Please bear with my snail-pace updating of the chapters, and give me all the support you can!

With LOTS and LOTS of love,
Asianbolt. (aka “The Mistranslator”)

One thought on “Summary: The Lone Star In My Constellation by Xiao Li

  1. Xie xie ni to the both of you Ms. Writer and Ms. Translator. This looks like my cup of tea.

    There are some aspects of Mo Sheng actions and decisions in Silent Separation which to me goes against the grain of situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

